Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

Home Again May 1, 2007

Filed under: Poetry — jojanoski @ 9:13 pm

A workshop assignment to write a sonnet,
sea water as the topic.

1seamountains-med_640×479_640×479.jpg

Home Again

 

Weary, I traveled long and hard to find
Clouds white, blue sky, breezy whispers that kiss
Your bright face scrubbed and filling up my mind
A sensory delight I must not miss.
But more I yearned to kiss the gentle sea
At water’s edge to sink my heels in sand
And let salty waters creep up on me
Between my toes and rising where I stand
White tide splashing against my wasted soul
Washing away my pain in liquid grace
Rinsing off dark pangs colored just like coal
Now I turn to spy your lovely pink face
And all is well around my world of love
Graced by earthly promise and Eyes above.

 

Copyright 2007 JO Janoski

 

2 Responses to “Home Again”

  1. Nice poem! I like that term liquid grace!

  2. ozymandiaz Says:

    Was it difficult? I have never atempted a sonnet. Thought about it, just never followed thru…
    very nice


Leave a comment