Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

Cheese Polenta November 9, 2006

Filed under: Cooking/Recipes — jojanoski @ 10:10 am

Being of Irish-American descent, I don’t know much about Mexican food, but I recently discovered Polenta. I found it to be a satisfying, easy to prepare side dish I would take any day over rice or potatoes. I prepare the recipe below, and after it is set, cut into slices to fry. This makes more than I need for one meal, so I freeze the extra slices and throw them right into skillet when I need them. Easy and delicious!

Cheese Polenta

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups boiling water
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a mixing bowl combine cornmeal, cold water and salt. Grease a loaf pan.
  2. Bring the remaining 3 cups of water to a rolling boil and stir in the cornmeal mixture. Bring the mixture back to a boil while stirring constantly. Reduce heat to a simmer and stir in the cheese.
  3. Let the mixture simmer for 20 to 30 minutes; stirring frequently. Allow the polenta to simmer until it becomes very thick. Spread the mixture into the loaf pan and refrigerate at least 4 hours before serving.
 

2 Responses to “Cheese Polenta”

  1. mcrubble Says:

    My dear, polenta is an Italian dish. Yours will be delicious.

  2. jojanoski Says:

    No kidding? See, I told you I’m Irish!


Leave a Reply

