Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

Serial Heart – A Septet Poem – Ringing of the Bards October 6, 2006

Filed under: Poetry — jojanoski @ 7:44 pm

Another Ringing of the Bards!
This submission offers up a poem involved with the serial nature of life…of a series of events accomplishing transformation. I’ve done it in Septet form.

A Septet–Syllables 3, 5, 7. 9, 7, 5, 3
Does not have to rhyme.


SERIAL HEART

Revolting.
Your utterances
pepper my soul with contempt.
Pitchfork devil dancing in my heart.
Silence! I demand you go!
Leave me gentle peace.
You rile me.

You’ve come back.
My heart runs away
but my weary mind lingers,
empty of hateful dark verbiage.
Speechless, numb, staring at you,
waiting for your words
of regret.

Expecting
ripe apologies.
Instead you sing gold-rimmed songs
of forgiveness while winged angels soar.
Supernatural creatures
instructing in love
surround me.

Encircled.
Silver wonderment.
Cheated of my black-edged hate.
Cleansing silvery stars enlighten.
Revolutionary heart,
Juggernaut of love
victory.

Copyright 2006 JO Janoski

Blogged with Flock

 

3 Responses to “Serial Heart – A Septet Poem – Ringing of the Bards”

  1. […] While we are on the subject of family values, Jo Janoski does an excellent job of dissecting the intertwined values of love and hate in her submission for the ringing, entitled “Serial Heart” (the poem is written in a series of stanzas with 3-5-7-9-7-5-3 syllables): Revolting. Your utterances pepper my soul with contempt. Pitchfork devil dancing in my heart. Silence! I demand you go! Leave me gentle peace. You rile me. […]

  2. I like the verse where talk about gold rimmed songs.

  3. Bob Says:

    Hey Jo, I like the form a lot and some really intense images also. Great entry! Take care,

    Bob


Leave a Reply

