Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

Me memed? But Who Is Gonna Read This? September 19, 2006

Filed under: Personal Information — jojanoski @ 8:27 am

Me, memed? Egad! I’ve never been! Oh well, since Billy is a good friend and I know he wouldn’t want to hurt me, I’ll give it a try. Let me preface though by saying I read a lot of blogs, but I haven’t cemented many friendships in the blogosphere by commenting or making my presence known, so I don’t know who would want to read about me. Okay, here goes:


1: Do you like the look and the contents of your blog?

At the moment, yes, I like the look. Although I tend to be restless and make changes frequently, not just in my blog, but my computer wallpaper is constantly changing from plain colors to patterns to photographs to artwork, as are the color themes for my OS and applications, etc., etc. The content of my blog is okay–I try to vary it from my writing to other areas of more general interest like recipes and TV commentary. Sometimes I wonder if I should be more theme-related and stick to one topic; but once again, I’m so restless I doubt I would be happy confined to a single theme.

2: Does your family know about your blog?
My family knows about my blog, but to tell you the truth, they don’t seem interested in it–at least they never say a peep about it. ;)

3: Can you tell your friends about your blog? Do you consider it a private thing?
No, it’s hardly private, but once again, they don’t say much either; so I’m thinking maybe I’ll start a gossip section where I tell all the secrets they confided to me over the years to the world. Then I’ll hear from them…heh, heh. Errr…or maybe I’ll hear from their lawyers.

4: Do you just read the blogs of those who comment on your blog? or you try to discover new blogs?
I’m always looking for new blogs. Everyday, I try to read a couple new ones.  I look for them in the aggregates where I’m listed, in wordpress where I have my blog, and in the writing blogs where I frequent. I’ve found some good ones that way.  I like to know the neighborhood where I “live.”

5: Did your blog positively affect your mind? Give an example.
I’m not sure it positively affects my mind. In fact, it probably takes my mind away from more productive places I should be instead. I find myself wanting to post instead of hunkering down to more demanding projects. The need to make a daily blog appearance shoves anything else aside. Not a good thing.

6: What does the number of visitors to your blog mean? Do you use a traffic counter?
I’d like to say I’m not a traffic counter, but hey! I have at least two different counters running on the darn thing. I get worn out checking them all the time. And yet, I don’t have the time to develop the blog to draw more readers. So I’m torturing myself, I suppose. ;)

7: Did you imagine how other bloggers look like?

I do! And I make them look pretty good in my mind’s eye. They’d be smart to never post a photo and ruin the good looks I’ve already given them.

8: Do you think blogging has any real benefit?
Well, at least I write most days whereas without it, I might cop out. But more importantly, blogging makes me reach out everyday and touch the world. I’m self-employed, working at home. And I live in a secluded area, so I don’t see a lot of people on a daily basis. The blogosphere provides a sense of community. Gawd, that makes me sounds like a reclusive sicko! You don’t think I am, do you?

9: Do you think that the Blogsphere is a stand alone community separated from the real world?
No, I think the blogosphere is painfully aware of the real world; but it is a temporary escape from it. We drag it in with us and talk about it in a safe environment and then head back out. A pit stop, if you will.

10: Do some political blogs scare you? Do you avoid them? No, annoy me, maybe. Send me screaming into the night, sure! ;)

11: Do you think that criticizing your blog is useful?
I suppose it is, but I don’t want you to. I won’t be able to listen and get your point anyway, because I’ll be so upset. ;)

12: Have you ever thought about what happen to your blog in case you died?
Probably nothing. I mean, I already told you my family and friends wouldn’t do anything with it. LOL. I’m not thinking what I say is so memorable, history will want to record it and make a big deal over my words and impressions. My blog would gag and spit, then die of neglect, a spark of magnetic resonance floating in cyberspace untouched for as long as magnetism lasts.

13: Which blogger had the greatest impression on you?
I have to say Billy has impressed me with his energy and ideas, and of course, his writing. He rarely disappoints.

14: Which blogger you think is the most similar to you?

I’m hoping no one. I mean, I’d like to think I’m original. But I’m not really.

15: Name a song you want to listen to.
I’ve got to be honest. I’m culturally challenged, having long since quit listening to pop music. I guess I’m always willing to listen to anything by the Beatles or the Rolling Stones because they transcend generations and they’re good, dammit.

16: Ask five bloggers to answer these question on their blogs.
Oh geez! Like I said, I don’t communicate with many bloggers. I honestly don’t have five I can think of who would do this. You do believe me, don’t you? Huh, huh? You do believe me, right?

Blogged with Flock

 

2 Responses to “Me memed? But Who Is Gonna Read This?”

  1. “Who is gonna read this?”

    Why me, of course. I love your honesty, Jo, and the compliments are always appreciated.

  2. Pearl Says:

    5,6,8 love em. And 7 is a great answer. :)

    At least 2 of us read it. :)

    I already did the same quiz.


Leave a Reply

