Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

Learning Linux June 24, 2006

Filed under: Computers — jojanoski @ 9:10 am

I have spent time this week setting up Linux on my computer. I’m not a techno-geek by any stretch, but I can certainly enjoy the newfound freedom this operating system offers. I had become so tired of Windows with its endless array of tasks–spyware checks, virus scans, weekly Windows updates, virus database updates, spyware definition updates…enough already!

Linux is less popular and less likely to be vulnerable to viruses, etc. I found it to be a sleek, speedy, solid, enjoyable operating system. You know how sometimes you say you’re happy, but there are a few little things you overlook in order to say you’re satisfied. Like you might say you like Windows, even though you have to put up with its vulnerability and all that drags in on those coattails, like scanning for viruses and spyware all the time. Well, with Linux, so far I don’t have any complaints–so that’s a good place to start out from.

There is a learning curve, and I have a long way to go. But I was able to get up and started without too much hassle. I hope I continue to feel this good about it.

 

2 Responses to “Learning Linux”

  1. hyperreality Says:

    What flavour of Linux did you use? Ubuntu? I currently like to try the new OpenSuse.

  2. jojanoski Says:

    I’m using ubuntu. It seems fairly helpful for a lost soul like myself mucking my way through. ;)


Leave a Reply

