Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

What happened to William Shatner? January 21, 2006

Filed under: TV — jojanoski @ 5:35 pm




What happened to William Shatner?


I noticed William Shatner on the news recently when he sold a kidney stone for charity. Seeing him made me long for the Shatner I used to know. When I was a sweet young thing, I watched him on Star Trek, feeling enthralled by his good looks and command of the role of Captain Kirk. He was suave with the ladies, tough with the bullies–ever ready for a little of the ol' fisticuffs, and in charge, always in charge. Later, when I saw the episodes in color, I loved the way his gold tunic look great with his hair and complexion. That was back when it was his own hair, I add now wistfully.


The Priceline commercials sent shockwaves through me–how could Captain Kirk do commercials? After that, I found him in a variety of buffoon roles, hitting an all time low on Third Rock. Now, even as a lawyer on Boston Legal, his character is still a joke–a buffoon as usual–a higher class, smarter one, but a buffoon, none the less.


I would give anything to see him in a dramatic role, something that pulls from his considerable classical training and leaves deep impressions. Does anyone out there know of a recent Shatner movie or TV part I might enjoy?


 

Leave a Reply

