Jo Janoski\’s Blog

Writings, Observations, Poetry, Stories

Washing the Dog May 26, 2005

Filed under: Essays — jojanoski @ 7:14 pm

Washing the Dog

…..How do they know? I'm careful. Oh so careful! I don't get out the shampoo. I don't even so much as glance at the towel. Honestly, all I do is think about it, and that dog knows.

She looks at me and her ears go down–down in that hangdog way that lurks somewhere between guilty and painfully obedient. Then she bolts. She takes off toward the bedroom. Her hiding place is there…under the bed.

I run faster and slide in on one knee just in time to close the baby gate. Yes, that's right. We have a baby gate on the bedroom doorway for moments like this when we have to stop the dog from hiding under the bed. I sigh in relief before picking her up in my arms and plopping her in the bathroom. I won this time, but what about the next bath day?

 

2 Responses to “Washing the Dog”

  1. Mickej Says:

    You should have a Miniature Schauzer…our little Rag-a-Muffin (who we called just Muffin) loved her baths. They were exciting play-times for both her and me. Funny times were when she would jump in the bathtub with either me or my husband at OUR bath-times! We had her for 16 years, six month, two days; her last four months she spent joyfully playing with our 5 kittens – she loved them so, and I think she thought of ’em as here kids!
    You’re confirming what I’ve often thought: our pets are smarter that are we! LOL

  2. shelly Says:

    i love that shelf!


Leave a Reply

